Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Oberlin, Wabash Claim 2014 Cross Country Titles

Oberlin, Wabash Claim 2014 Cross Country Titles

Wabash earned its second-straight and third overall North Coast Athletic Conference men’s cross country title, while Oberlin captured the women’s championship for the sixth-straight time and seventh overall at the 2014 NCAC Cross Country Championships. Both races were held at Infirmary Mound Park in Granville, Ohio, hosted by Denison University on Saturday November 1st. CLICK HERE for complete results. PHOTOS - VIDEO

In the men’s race, all five Little Giants’ scoring runners finished in the top eight to finish first with 28 points, passing Ohio Wesleyan (90), which posted its first top-two finish since 2006. Oberlin cracked the top three for the first time since 2009 in third-place with 108 points and was followed by DePauw in fourth (113), Allegheny in fifth (120), Wooster in sixth (142), Denison in seventh (149), Kenyon in eighth (203), Wittenberg in ninth (225) and Hiram in 10th (330).

Allegheny junior Logan Steiner (Meadville, PA/North Allegheny) won the race and was crowned the NCAC Runner of the Year after he traversed the eight-kilometer course in 26:31.9. Wabash had four runners earn first-team laurels including Fabian House (Muncie, IN/Muncie Central) in third (26:36.6), Adam Togami (New Albany, IN/New Albany) in fourth (26:44.7),Nick Boyce (Indianapolis, IN/Chatard) in sixth (26:53.1) and Mason McKinney (Lafayette, IN/McCutcheon) in seventh (26.58.8). Joining Steiner and the Little Giants’ runners in the top seven as first team All-NCAC performers was Denison sophomore Jake Dennie (Indianapolis, IN/Brebeuf Jesuit Prep School) in fifth (26:49.2).

Ohio Wesleyan’s John Sotos (Dublin, OH/Coffman) was the top freshman finisher in the race in 10th (27:00.2) to earn Newcomer of the Year honors. Little Giant head coach Roger Busch was voted men’s coach of the year for the third time in his career.

On the women’s side, the Yeowomen saw four of their top scoring runners finish in the top six to edge out Ohio Wesleyan for the team title by a 30-46 margin. Allegheny was third in the final standings with 64 points, followed by DePauw in fourth (94), Denison in fifth (121), Wooster in sixth (162), Kenyon in seventh (183), Wittenberg in eight (251) and Hiram in ninth (295).

Oberlin senior Emma Lehmann (San Francisco, CA/Urban) captured the individual title and was named the NCAC Runner of the Year after covering the wet and muddy six-kilometer course in 23:15.7. Lehmann’s classmate Kyle (Lindsay) Neal (North Muskegon, MI/North Muskegon)was second in the race with a time of 23:34.9 and Allegheny senior Marisa Brown (Littleton, CO/Heritage) was third (23:41.3), while Ohio Wesleyan sophomore Sarah Fowler (Mt. Vernon, OH/Fredericktown) (23:42.7) and Oberlin senior Sarah Jane Kerwin (Chapel Hill, NC/Carrboro) (23:47.3) rounded out the top five respectively. Rounding out the list of 2014 All-NCAC first-team performers was Oberlin senior Carey Lyons (Tacoma, WA / Stadium) in sixth (23:59.5) and Ohio Wesleyan junior Abby Warth (Massillon, OH/Tuslaw) in seventh (24:03.3).

In addition, Denison’s Emily Grabauskas (Annandale, VA/Falls Church) earned NCAC Newcomer of the Year honors as the top freshman in the championship field in 11th (24:24.6), while Ray Appenheimer was voted as the women’s Coach of the Year for the sixth year in a row and the seventh time of his career.