Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Allegheny Sweeps 2015 NCAC Cross Country Titles

Allegheny Sweeps 2015 NCAC Cross Country Titles

 2015 All-NCAC Cross Country Teams


Allegheny completed the clean at the 2015 NCAC Cross Country Championships held at Kenyon College in Gambier, Ohio, on Saturday, October 31. The women’s team won its first league championship since 2007 and its 12th overall, while the men’s team hoisted the trophy for the first time since 2012 and also the 12th time in program history. CLICK HERE for complete championship results.

In the women’s race, four of the Gators’ scoring runners placed in the top-10 to finish first overall with 51 points, topping Oberlin (57), which had won the six previous NCAC titles. DePauw cracked the top three for the third time in the last five years in third with 83 points, followed by Ohio Wesleyan in fourth (89), Denison in fifth (100), Kenyon in sixth (133), Wooster in seventh (168) and Wittenberg in eighth (248). 

 Ohio Wesleyan junior Sarah Fowler (Mt. Vernon, OH/Fredericktown) won the women’s 6K race and was crowned the NCAC Runner of the Year after she covered the championship course in a time of 22:32.4. Fowler was the only runner in the championship field to earn first-team All-NCAC honors three years in a row. Allegheny junior S.J. Guillaume (Ridgefield, CT/Ridgefield) led the grouping of top-10 Gator finishers by placing second with a time of 22:41.5, while DePauw junior Claudia Monnett (Cloverdale, IN/Cloverdale) climbed the All-NCAC podium for the first time in her career in third with a time of 22:52.0. Rounding out the All-NCAC first team was Denison senior Emily Lamm (Pittsburgh, PA/Shady Side Acad.) in fourth (22:59.7), Oberlin senior Sarel Loewus (Pullman, WA/Pullman) in fifth (23:01.1), Ohio Wesleyan senior Abbey Warth (Massillon, OH/Tuslaw) in sixth (23:02.9) and Oberlin freshman Linnea Halsten (Madison, WI/East) in seventh (23:08.9).

Halsten was also named the NCAC Newcomer of the Year as the top freshman finisher in the event, while Allegheny interim head coach Jordan Hill was named the NCAC Women’s Coach of the Year for the first time in her career. The last Allegheny head coach to earn NCAC Women’s Coach of the Year honors was Bill Ross in 2007.

Sarah Fowler Linnea Halsten Jordan Hill


On the men’s side, the Gators saw three of their scoring runners finish in the top-seven to edge Wabash for the team title by a 42-55 margin. Oberlin was third in the final team standings with 75 points, followed by Ohio Wesleyan in fourth (102), DePauw in fifth (132), Denison and Wooster in a tie for sixth (163), Kenyon in eighth (193) and Wittenberg in ninth (259).

Oberlin senior Geno Arthur (Camarillo, CA/Rio Mesa) made history as he became the first Yeomen runner in school history to earn the NCAC Runner of the Year award after traversing the men’s championship course with an 8K time of 25:00.7. Arthur completes his career with four All-NCAC certificates, which includes three-straight first-team performances. Allegheny senior Logan Steiner (Meadville, PA/North Allegheny), the 2014 NCAC Runner of the Year, earned his fourth-straight All-NCAC first-team performance by finishing second with a time of 25:08.8, while Wabash senior Fabian House (Muncie, IN/Central) cracked the top-seven for the second year in a row in third-place with a time of 25:20.0. The following four spots on the All-NCAC first team were occupied by runners for the first time in their careers, including Allegheny junior Dan Cheung (Northbrook, IL/Glenbrook North) in fourth (25:25.7), Wabash sophomore Colin Rinne (Westfield, IN/Westfield) in fifth (25:27.8), Ohio Wesleyan sophomore John Sotos (Dublin, OH/Coffman) in sixth (25:29.8) and Allegheny sophomore Luke Regan (Gibsonia, PA/Pine-Richland) in seventh (25:39.4).

DePauw freshman Paul Christian (Glen Ellyn, IL/Glenbard West) was the top freshman finisher in the men’s 8K race in 12th-place (26:00.4) to earn NCAC Newcomer of the Year honors. In addition, Allegheny’s Hill was also named the NCAC Men’s Coach of the Year after guiding the Gators to their first conference title since 2012.

Geno Arthur Paul Christian Jordan Hill