Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Allegheny Sweeps 2016 NCAC XC Titles

Allegheny Sweeps 2016 NCAC XC Titles

 2016 All-NCAC Cross Country Teams

For the second year in a row, Allegheny posted a clean sweep at the 2016 NCAC Cross Country Championships held at the Lavern Gibson Cross Country Course in Terre Haute, Indiana, on Sunday, October 30th. The titles give both squads their NCAC-leading 13th conference championships for their respective genders. The final results are available at the following links: MEN -- WOMEN

In the women’s race, Allegheny dominated the field by having four of its scoring runners crack the top-10 to finish as the 2016 NCAC Champions for the second year in a row with 47 total points. Oberlin, which won six-straight league titles from 2009-14, finished second overall with 60 points, followed by DePauw in third (88), Kenyon in fourth (89), Ohio Wesleyan in fifth (112), Wittenberg in sixth (172), Wooster in seventh (175) and Denison in eighth (187). 

Ohio Wesleyan senior Sarah Fowler (Mt. Vernon, OH/Fredericktown) became the sixth women’s runner in NCAC history to win back-to-back individual championships after she traversed the 6K championship course in 21:51.8. Fowler is now a four-time All-NCAC first-team selections after also finishing in the top-seven at the NCAC Championships in both 2013 and 2014. The next two spots in the individual standings was a role reversal from a year ago as this year’s finish saw DePauw senior Claudia Monnett (Cloverdale, IN/Cloverdale) finish second in 22:04.2 and Allegheny senior S.J. Guillaume (Ridgefield, CT/Ridgefield) place third in 22:20.7. Guillaume also earned second team laurels in 2014. After finishing eighth in 2015, Allegheny senior Monica Patrick (Salem, OH/South Range) made the leap to the first team this year by finishing fourth with a time of 22:27.7. Oberlin sophomore Linnea Halsten (Madison, WI/East), the 2015 NCAC Newcomer of the Year, makes her second-straight appearance on the All-NCAC first team after finishing fifth in 22:29.8. Allegheny sophomore Sarah Hevener (Hilliard, OH/Bradley) makes her All-NCAC debut as a first-team performer after placing sixth (22:48.0), while Denison sophomore Anna Fash (Wooster, OH/Wooster) elevated to the first team from the 2015 honorable mention squad by finishing seventh in 23:11.0.

Oberlin freshman Marija Crook (Carrboro, NC/Chapel Hill) was the top women’s finisher at the 2016 NCAC Championship in her first year of collegiate competition in 10th-place (23:37.1) to earn the NCAC Newcomer of the Year Award. Crook is the second-straight Yeowomen to earn the award and the sixth in program history after Halsten collected the honor a year ago.

Runner of the Year Newcomer of the Year Coach of the Year

Sarah Fowler Marija Crook Ben Mourer


On the men’s side, the Gators saw three of their scoring runners finish in the top-10 to edge DePauw for the team title by a 10-point margin of 44-54. Wabash finished third overall in the team standings with 58 points, followed by Ohio Wesleyan in fourth (109), Denison in fifth (156), Wooster in sixth (177), Oberlin in seventh (196), Wittenberg in eighth (202) and Kenyon in ninth (210). 

Allegheny senior Dan Cheung (Northbrook, IL/Glenbrook North) became the ninth runner in school history to earn the NCAC Runner of the Year award after he posted a winning 8K time of 25:17.7 on the championship course. Cheung closes out his career with two All-NCAC citations after also earning first-team laurels a year ago by finishing fourth overall. DePauw sophomore Zach Batt (Stafford, VA/North Stafford) earned his first All-NCAC certificate by finishing second overall with a time of 25:36.9, while Ohio Wesleyan junior John Sotos (Dublin, OH/Coffman) cracked the top-seven for the second year in a row in third place with a time of 25:42.4. DePauw sophomore Paul Christian (Glen Ellyn, IL/Glenbard West), the 2015 NCAC Newcomer of the Year, elevated to the first team this fall by finishing fourth overall (25:43.1), while Wabash sophomore Dominic Patacsil (West Lafayette, IN/West Lafayette) made the leap to the top squad this year from the 2015 All-NCAC Honorable Mention team by placing fifth with a time of 25:43.8. Wabash senior Mason McKinney (Lafayette, IN/McCutheon), who finished sixth overall in 26:00.5, returned to the All-NCAC squad this year after earning second-team honors in 2013 and first-team laurels in 2014. Allegheny senior Randy Violette (Dillsburg, PA/Northern), a 2015 All-NCAC Honorable-Mention performer, rounded out the 2016 All-NCAC first team in seventh place with a time of 26:04.0. 

Wabash freshman Sam Henthorn (Carmel, IN/Westfield) was the top finisher at the 2016 NCAC Championships in his first year of collegiate competition in 15th-place (26:48.1) to earn the NCAC Newcomer of the Year award. He is the fifth Little Giant to earn the NCAC Newcomer of the Year honor and the first since McKinney collected the award in 2013. 

In addition, first-year Allegheny head coach Ben Mourer was named both the 2016 NCAC Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Coach of the Year after leading both squads to their second-straight league crowns.


Runner of the Year Newcomer of the Year Coach of the Year

Dan Cheung Sam Henthorn Ben Mourer