Gators Win 3rd-Straight Women's XC Title

Allegheny won its third-straight league title at the 2017 NCAC Cross Country Championships
Allegheny won its third-straight league title at the 2017 NCAC Cross Country Championships

 2017 All-NCAC Women's Cross Country Teams

For the third year in a row, the Allegheny women's team captured the NCAC cross country championship after accumulating 31 points on Saturday, October 28th, at the 2017 NCAC Cross Country Championships, held at Oberlin College in Oberlin, Ohio.

CLICK HERE to access the championship photo gallery. CLICK HERE to access the final results.

The Gators saw three of their scoring runners finish in the top-five to edge Oberlin for the team title by a narrow six-point margin, 31-37. Kenyon finished third overall in the team standings with 71 points, followed by Ohio Wesleyan (106), DePauw (117), Denison (186), Wooster (203) and Wittenberg (230). 

Oberlin junior Linnea Halsten (Madison, WI/East) became the fifth different runner in school history to earn the NCAC Women's Runner of the Year award after she posted a winning 6K time of 21:23.3 on the championship course. Halsten has now claimed first-team honors at the NCAC championships in each of her first three years. Allegheny junior Sarah Hevener (Hilliard, OH/Bradley) cracked the top-seven for the second year in a row in second place with a time of 21:57.7. Kenyon freshman Eleanor Tetreault (Portland, OR/Franklin) finished third in her first-career championship meet with a time of 22:08.7, while Allegheny senior Olivia Mamula (Cambridge Springs, PA/Cambridge Springs) finished in the top-seven for the first time in her career in fourth-place with a time of 22:14.6. The following two runners elevated to the first team after earning second-team laurels in 2016 as Allegheny junior Emily Forner (Beaver, PA/Beaver Area) finished fifth (22:20.5) and Oberlin sophomore Marija Crook (Carrboro, NC/Chapel Hill) checked in at sixth (22:35.0). Kenyon sophomore Gracie Moses (Great Falls, VA/Potomac School) rounded out the All-NCAC first team in seventh with a time of 22:39.3. 

Tetreault was also tabbed as the 2017 NCAC Women's Newcomer of the Year after posting the top individual finish by a student-athlete in their first year of collegiate competition. She is the first Kenyon women's runner to earn the Newcomer of the Year award since Christina McNamara collected the honor in 2002. 

Finally, Allegheny head coach Ben Mourer was named the 2017 NCAC Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year for the second year in a row.


Runner of the Year Newcomer of the Year Coach of the Year
Linnea Halsten Eleanor Tetreault Ben Mourer