Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

NCAC Weekly Release (9-18-17) - Cross Country

The DePauw Tigers won their second-straight Indiana Intercollegiate Little State Championship
The DePauw Tigers won their second-straight Indiana Intercollegiate Little State Championship

Complete .PDF

A pair of team wins by the DePauw and Oberlin women’s squads highlighted the action on the NCAC cross country circuit last weekend. There is minimal action this weekend across the conference as Denison is the only team in action, traveling to Williamstown, Massachusetts, for the Williams College Purple Valley Classic.

ALLEGHENY hosted several non-conference schools for its own Allegheny Classic in Meadville, marking the program’s first home meet in three years. Carnegie Mellon won the men’s title with 46 total points, while the Gators tied for second with NCAA Div. II Indiana (PA) with 71 points each. On the women’s side, CMU also topped the team standings with 35 points, while Allegheny finished fourth out of 11 squads with 123 points. Individually, the men’s squad had three runners finish in the top-10, led by senior John Hughes (Cold Spring, NY/Haldane) breaking the tape on the four-mile course with a time of 20:03. Senior Carter Smith (Cranberry Twp., PA/Eden Christian) checked in at fifth (20:23) and junior Matt Svetz (Meadville, PA/Meadville) finished ninth overall in 20:30. In the women’s race Allegheny senior Olivia Mamula (Cambridge Springs, PA/Cambridge Springs) cracked the top-10 in ninth-place with a 5k time of 18:47, while Carnegie Mellon’s Aparana Alavilli finished first overall in 18:03.

DEPAUW and WABASH traveled to West Lafayette on Friday night for the annual Indiana Intercollegiates at Purdue University. Competing for the Little State Championship against NCAA Div. II, III and NAIA schools, the DePauw women topped the 13-team field for the second year in a row with 62 total points, while the men’s race saw Wabash and DePauw finish in third (97) and fourth (102), respectively. Rose-Hulman won the men’s title with 51 total points. The Tigers had a pair of runners finish in the top-10 in the women’s 6,000-meter race, including senior Meghan Hennessey (Williamsport, IN/Seeger Memorial) in fourth (24:18.4) and sophomore Natalie Gruszka (Valparaiso, IN/Valparaiso) in eighth (25:14.5). On the men’s side, Wabash junior Dominic Patacsil (West Lafayette, IN/West Lafayette) finished first out of 106 runners in the Little States Championship with a winning 8,000-meter time of 25:39.0. His time was also the fourth fastest time overall at the event, trailing just three runners from Purdue University. DePauw’s top finisher in the men’s Little State standings was senior Polo Burguete (Distrito Federal, Mexico/Culver Acadamies, IN) in fourth a time of 26:59.2.

KENYON, OBERLIN, OHIO WESLEYAN, WITTENBERG and WOOSTER all made the trip to Westerville, Ohio, last Saturday for the Otterbein Invitational. Led by all seven of its runners finishing in the top-20, Oberlin won the team title in the women’s field with 38 total points, followed by Kenyon in second (49), Ohio Wesleyan in fifth (138), Wooster in seventh (183) and Wittenberg in eighth (223). In the men’s race, host Otterbein won the team title with 33 points, while the NCAC finishes included Ohio Wesleyan in third (97), Wooster in fourth (98), Oberlin in fifth (130), Kenyon in sixth (153) and Wittenberg in eighth (213). Junior Linnea Halsten (Madison, WI/East) paced the Yeowomen in central Ohio by finishing first out of 139 runners with a 6k time of 21:56.8, while the Kenyon freshmen duo of Cortney Johnson (Quarryville, PA/Solanco) and Eleanor Tetreault (Portland, OR/Franklin) also cracked the top-five in second (23:31.2) and fifth (23:44.4), respectively. Junior Rachel Bush (Mt. Gilead, OH/Mt. Gilead) paced OWU in 16th with a time of 24:38.8, while Wooster senior Mackenzie Kellar (Albion, MI/Western) and Wittenberg sophomore Alexis Gray (Washington C.H., OH/Washington C.H.) both cracked the top-30 in 24th (24:58.5) and 28th (25:24.0), respectively. In the men’s race, two NCAC runners finished in the top-10 in the individual standings, including Ohio Wesleyan sophomore Ryan Lesmez (Arlington, VA/Yorktown) in second with an 8k time of 27:16.5 and Wooster junior David Westcott (Millbrook, NY/Millbrook) in 10th after stopping the clock in 27:43.3. Kenyon junior Kyle Rose (Meadville, PA/Meadville) finished just outside the top-10 in 12th with a time of 27:49.5, while Oberlin’s top finish came from junior Grant Sheely (Dobbs Ferry, NY/Dobbs Ferry) in 18th (28:18.6) and senior Jersson Pachar (Elk Grove Village, IL/Elk Grove) turned in Wittenberg’s top individual effort in 28th with a time of 29:08.3.

DENISON was idle last weekend.