Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Oberlin Captures 2019 NCAC Women's Cross Country Title

Oberlin captured the 2019 NCAC women's cross country championship on Saturday, Nov. 2.
Oberlin captured the 2019 NCAC women's cross country championship on Saturday, Nov. 2.

Results | All-NCAC Teams | Photo Gallery

CARMEL, IN - Oberlin captured the 2019 North Coast Athletic Conference (NCAC) Women’s Cross Country Championship on Saturday, Nov. 2. The Yeowomen finished with a total of 36 points to claim their second-consecutive NCAC title.

The Kenyon Ladies finished second in the team standings with 58 points, while Allegheny (64), DePauw (94) and Wooster (140) rounded out the top five. Ohio Wesleyan (155) took sixth place, followed by Denison (192) in seventh and Wittenberg (196) in eighth.

Kenyon sophomore Emma Becker (Rocky River, OH/Magnificat) claimed the NCAC Women's Runner of the Year honor after she posted a winning 6K time of 21:59.5 on the championship course. Allegheny junior Mica Hanish (Baden, PA/Ambridge) earned her third All-NCAC honor with a second-place finish (22:04.1) after claiming first-team honors in 2018 and second-team laurels in 2017. The following two Oberlin seniors claimed their fourth-consecutive all-conference finishes, as Oona Jung-Beeman (Wilmette, IL/New Trier) finished third (22:06.6) and Marija Crook (Carrboro, NC/Chapel Hill) took fourth (22:15.0). DePauw sophomore Jenny Noll (La Porte, IN/La Porte), the 2018 Newcomer of the Year, finished in fifth with a time of 22:48.8 for her second All-NCAC first-team finish. Oberlin sophomore Nina Liloia (Haddonfield, NJ/Haddonfield Memorial) cracked the top-seven for the first time in her career with a sixth-place finish (22:50.6), while Kenyon junior Eleanor Tetreault (Portland, OR/Franklin) rounded out the All-NCAC first team in seventh with a time of 22:51.6 for her second first-team finish.

Oberlin freshman Lilly Crook (Carrboro, NC/Chapel Hill) was tabbed as the 2019 NCAC Women's Newcomer of the Year after posting the top individual finish by a student-athlete in their first year of collegiate competition. The rookie finished in eighth place (22:56.4) becoming the seventh Oberlin women's runner to earn the Newcomer of the Year award, and the first since her sister Marija collected the honor in 2016.

Oberlin’s Ray Appenheimer was voted the 2019 Women’s Coach of the Year after the Yeowomen took home their tenth title in program history. This was Appenheimer’s tenth Coach of the Year award (2019, 2018, 2009-14, 2005-06).


Runner of the Year Newcomer of the Year Coach of the Year
Emma Becker, Kenyon Lilly Crook, Oberlin Ray Appenheimer, Oberlin