Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

NCAC 20th Anniversary Cross Country All-Decade Teams Announced

NCAC 20th Anniversary Cross Country All-Decade Teams

Kenyon’s Dan Denning and Oberlin’s Shannon Fox head an impressive list of past standouts named to the North Coast Athletic Conference’s 20th Anniversary men’s and women’s cross country teams.

Denning claimed back-to-back NCAC individual titles in 1996 and 1997. He produced four top-seven finishes over his career with the Lords, earning four straight first-team All-NCAC honors. Denning is joined on the 10-person men’s squad by Denison’s Joe Dunham, another two-time NCAC champion. Dunham claimed titles in 1998 and 1999, leading Denison to the 1998 NCAC team championship. A three-time All-NCAC first team member, he finished second as a freshman in 1997 and was named Newcomer of the Year. Denison placed three athletes on the All-Decade team. Brock Babcock and Eric Nigh join Dunham on the squad. Babcock was a four-time All-NCAC first team member after finishing the NCAC championship race in the top seven in each of his four seasons of competition. He was named Newcomer of the Year after a second-place finish in 1999. The past three NCAC men’s champions, Michael Baird (2002), Ben Hildebrand (‘01) and Vince Evener (‘00) round out Kenyon’s four honorees. Hildebrand was a four-time All-NCAC selection; He led the Lords to three straight NCAC title from 1999-2001. Wittenberg’s Jeremy Kaufman and the Case Western Reserve duo of Brian Casselberry and Steve Cullen round out the team.

Fox is one of two repeat NCAC champions on the All-Decade team. She claimed titles in 1995 and 1996 and was a three-time first-team All-NCAC member. Wittenberg’s Abi Gerstle also claimed two North Coast titles in 2001 and 2002. Gerstle is also a three-time first-team All-NCAC winner. Two-time first-team honoree Lori Tuchfeld joins Fox from Oberlin. Allegheny, Wooster and Kenyon each placed two athletes on the All-Decade team. The Gators (1993, ‘94, ‘02) and Fighting Scots (1996, ‘97, ‘98*) each claimed three NCAC team crowns between 1993 and 2002, while the Ladies won two team championships over the past 10 years (1999, ‘00). The Gator contingent is led by 1998 individual champion and 1997 runner-up Amy Shuckert. 1993 winner, Tina Chase, joins Shuckert. Emily Moorefield and Sandy Tecklenburg represent the Fighting Scots. Moorefield won the individual crown in 1994 and was the runner-up the previous year. Tecklenburg is a four-time All-NCAC honoree and was named 1997 Newcomer of the Year. Gretchen Baker and four-time first-team All-NCAC member Keri Schulte of Kenyon and 2000 NCAC champ Shannon Rieder of Earlham round out the 10-person team.

The North Coast Athletic Conference will be announcing 20th Anniversary teams in all 22 sports during the 2003-04 academic year. The NCAC was founded in 1983 and began competition in the fall of 1984. The North Coast’s commitment to equity, its broad base of athletic programs and an unwavering insistence on excellence in academics has served as a model for conferences throughout the country.

The NCAC’s 20th Anniversary teams were selected in each sport through balloting by present and former coaches and administrators. Athletes who participated in conference competition between the fall of 1993 through the spring of 2003 were eligible for selection.