Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2007 NCAC Cross Country Championships


Date: Saturday, Oct. 27
Admission: No charge

NCAC Championship History

Edited: Oct. 27, 2007



GAMBIER, Ohio -- Allegheny claimed the men's and women's titles at the 23rd annual North Coast Athletic Conference Championships, held at Kenyon Oct. 27. The Gators captured their seventh men's title and fifth in the past six years, while the women's squad took their 11th and first since 2002.

On the men's side, 12th-ranked (Oct. 23) Allegheny defeated second-place Denison by 65 points as the Gators took four of the top five places and had all seven scorers finish in the top 10. Gator senior Ryan Place (Meshoppen, PA/Elk Lake) won the race in 25:24, 12 seconds ahead of teammate and classmate Ben Mourer (Chicora, PA/Karns City). It marks the fifth straight year a runner from Allegheny won the men's race. Denison senior Joel Bendtsen (Chillicothe, OH/Chillicothe) took third, one second behind Mourer, then Gator teammates Zac Ross (Meadville, PA/Meadville) and senior Chris Corkins (Horseheads, NY/Horseheads) came in places four and five.

Rounding out the first team were Kenyon junior Jim Boston (Brookfield, WI/Marquette HS) in sixth and Gator sophomore Tony Dipre (Twinsburg, OH/Walsh Jesuit) in seventh. Newcomer of the Year honors went to Allegheny's Ross who was the top freshman finisher, in fourth place, while Place, who started his career in 2004 with Newcomer of the Year recognition, finishes with Runner of the Year honors.

In the women's race, Allegheny edged second-place and defending champion Oberlin by one point and a combined seven seconds to claim its first women's title since 2002. Oberlin freshman Joanna Johnson (Chico, CA/Chico) earned Runner of the Year honors as she won the race with a time of 22:48. She finished 11 seconds ahead of Kenyon freshman Lauren Brady (Tyngsboro, MA/Phillips Exeter), who completed the six-kilometer course in 22:59. Four freshman finished in the top five and six rookies placed in the top 10. Finishing third was Denison freshman Brooke Boening (Harpers Ferry, WV/Jefferson), followed by Kenyon junior Jess Francois (Yorktown Hts., NY/Yorktown) in fourth and Allegheny newcomer Rachel Hutchinson (Mohnton, PA/Governor Mifflin) in fifth.

Rounding out the first team were Allegheny sophomore Mia Symoniak (East Snyder, NY/Amherst Central) in sixth, the only repeat first-teamer, and freshman Katie Stancik (South Russell, OH/Chagrin Falls) in seventh. Johnson of Oberlin was named Newcomer of the Year as the highest freshman to finish the race. She is the first runner - male or female - to earn both Runner of the Year and Newcomer of the Year recognition since both were awarded starting in 1999.

Bill Ross of Allegheny earned Men's and Women's Coach of the Year honors. Ross was recognized for the fifth time in six years on the men's side and for the second time on the women's.

Championship Notes - Women: In the NCAC coaches’ pre-season poll, ALLEGHENY was predicted to finish fourth, but instead the Gators claimed three of the top seven spots to win the title for the first time since 2002 … EARLHAM sophomore Michelle Crane (Mansfield, OH/St. Peter’s) paced the Quakers with a 34th-place finish. She completed the course in 24:57 … Sophomore Leah Miracle (Marietta, OH/Marietta) was the top HIRAM runner with a 52nd-place finish in 26:25 … KENYON hosted the NCAC Championships for the first time since 1998 … WITTENBERG’S Megan Poling (Medina, OH/Highland) paced the Tigers with a 38th-place finish.

Championship Notes - Men: The father and son combination of coach Bill Ross and freshman Zac Ross (Meadville, PA/Meadville) was a key part of a record-setting day for ALLEGHENY as the Gators won their fourth title in the past five years. The senior Ross was named Coach of the Year for the fifth time, his son Zac placed fourth in the race to earn Newcomer of the Year honors. Senior Ryan Place (Meshoppen, PA/Elk Lake), who earned Newcomer of the Year recognition in 2004, was this year's race champion and was named Runner of the Year. Together, the Gators set a meet record by scoring 19 points, five points lower than Kenyon's 24 in 2000. Place is the fifth runner from Allegheny to win the race in the past five years … HIRAM was paced by freshman as newcomer Nicholas Michalenko (Moon Twp., PA/Our Lady of Sacred Heart) was the top Terrier to cross the line. Michalenko finished 63rd with a time of 30:07 … KENYON hosted the NCAC Championships for the first time since 1998 … With its third-place team finish, WABASH made its best showing since joining the league in 1999.

2007 NCAC Cross Country Results


1. Allegheny

1. Allegheny
2. Denison

2. Oberlin
3. Wabash

3. Kenyon
4. Ohio Wesleyan

Ohio Wesleyan
5. Kenyon

5. Denison
6. Oberlin

6. Wooster
7. Wooster

7. Wittenberg
8. Wittenberg

8. Earlham
9. Earlham

9. Hiram
10. Hiram