Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2009 NCAC Cross Country Championships

OWU Championship Information     --     NCAC Championships History

Edited:Oct. 31, 2009

Allegheny successfully defended its men's title for the fifth straight year while the Oberlin women took home their first championship since 2006 at the 26th annual North Coast Athletic Conference Championships. Both races were hosted by Ohio Wesleyan at Liberty Park in Powell, Ohio, on Oct. 31. The Gators captured their ninth men's title and seventh in the past eight years, while the Yeowomen have claimed their third overall.


On the men's side, Allegheny placed five runners in the top nine finishers to score 25 points and defeat second-place Wabash (82). Gator junior Jeramie Parker won the race and Runner of the Year recognition after leading all runners through the eight-kilometer course in 25:53. He was followed across the line by classmate Chris Marker (25:57.6) in second. Oberlin freshman Eric Line was 11th with a time of 26:53.3 to earn Newcomer of the Year honors as the top freshman finisher in the meet.

Complete Men's Results

In the women's race, Oberlin (33) placed four runners in the top 10 finishers to pass runner-up Wittenberg (76). Denison's Katie Navarre edged two-time defending champion Joanna Johnson of Oberlin by a margin of 2.4 seconds to win Runner of the Year honors. She finished with a time of 22:09.9 over six kilometers. Yeowomen freshman Sara Terashima crossed in fourth place and was named Newcomer of the Year (23:45.4) as the highest freshman finisher in the race.

Complete Women's Results

Jeramie Parker, Allegheny (left), Katie Navarre, Denison (left)


Bill Ross of Allegheny earned Men's Coach of the Year honors for the seventh time in eight years.Oberlin head coach Ray Appenheimer was named the Women's Coach of the Year for the second time.

2009 NCAC Cross Country Results

Men   Women
1. Allegheny 25   1. Oberlin 33
2. Wabash 82   2. Wittenberg 76
3. Oberlin 85   3. Allegheny 82
4. Ohio Wesleyan 103   4. Kenyon 93
5. Denison 104   5. Wooster 114
6. Kenyon 161   6. Ohio Wesleyan 126
7. Wooster 189   7. Denison 168
8. Wittenberg 218   8. Earlham 266
9. Earlham 264   9. Hiram 281
10. Hiram 283