Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2011 NCAC Cross Country Championships

Wabash earned its first-ever North Coast Athletic Conference men’s cross country title, while the Oberlin women captured their third-straight and fifth overall crown at the 28th annual NCAC Cross Country Championships on October 29th. Both races were hosted by Wittenberg at John Bryan State Park in Yellow Springs, Ohio.

Complete Results: Men -- Women

On the men’s side, Wabash saw four of its five scoring runners finish in the top 15 to finish in first place with 52 points, defeating eight-time defending NCAC champion Allegheny (65) by 13 points. Ohio Wesleyan posted 67 points to finish just two points out of second, while Oberlin (115) and DePauw (140) rounded out the top five. Denison placed sixth with 146 points, followed by Wooster (193), Kenyon (201), Wittenberg (207) and Hiram (289).

Denison senior Dee Salukombo (Lakewood, OH/Lakewood) won the race and was crowned the NCAC Runner of the Year after finishing first at the event with a time of 25:09 over the eight-kilometer course. Two Little Giant seniors carried the squad to its first-ever league title after finishing in the top five as Kevin McCarthy (Zionsville, IN/Zionsville) finished second in a time of 25:15 and Brian David (New Milford, NJ/Dwight Morrow) placed fourth with a time of 25:31. DePauw junior Noah Droddy (Indianapolis, IN/International) crossed the finish line in third place after covering the 8k course in 25:25, while Allegheny junior Kevin Edwards (Ramstein, Germany/Ramstein) rounded out the top five with a time of 25:44.

In the women’s race, all five of Oberlin’s scoring runners finished in the top 10 as the Yeowomen cruised to the team title with 32 points. Ohio Wesleyan finished in second place with 103 points, while DePauw (111), Kenyon (117) and Wittenberg (123) rounded out the top five. Allegheny placed sixth with 136 points, followed by Wooster (142), Denison (153) and Hiram (290).

Ohio Wesleyan sophomore Cara DeAngelis (Norton, OH/Ellet) captured the individual title and was named the NCAC Runner of the Year after covering the six-kilometer course in 22:10. Sophomore Molly Martorella (Winchandon, MA/Murdock) paced the Yeowomen in second place (22:17.), while freshman Carey Lyons (Tacoma, WA/Stadium) also logged a top-five finish for Oberlin in fifth-place overall with a time of 23:03. Kenyon sophomore Jenna Willet (Kensington, MD/Walter Johnson) finished third individually with a time of 22:34, while Allegheny sophomore Kristina Martin (Holley, NY/Holley) rounded out the top five in fourth (22:45).

2011 NCAC Cross Country Championships
1. Wabash 52 1. Oberlin 32
2. Allegheny 65 2. Ohio Wesleyan 103
3. Ohio Wesleyan 67 3. DePauw 111
4. Oberlin 115 4. Kenyon 117
5. DePauw 140 5. Wittenberg 123
6. Denison 146 6. Allegheny 136
7. Wooster 193 7. Wooster 142
8. Kenyon 201 8. Denison 153
9. Wittenberg 207 9. Hiram 290
10. Hiram 289